The following information applies to regular employees and 12-month faculty:
With the exception of military leave, employees must be in an active status to accrue sick
leave. ("Active status" does not include any period of unpaid leave of absence or
any non-working period for a flex-year employee.)
Employees will accrue sick leave on a monthly basis on the first day of each month.
New hires will receive sick leave on the first day of employment subject to 1c.
The amount of sick leave accrued will be based upon both the work schedule (planned working time) as recorded
in IRIS and the number of workdays in the month the employee is eligible to accrue leave.
Sick leave taken will be paid at the employee's current regular rate of pay at the time of payment.
Sick leave may not be taken until accrued and may not be advanced. When possible, e.g., medical appointments, it must be approved in advance by the supervisor.
Failure to follow departmental procedure in requesting leave may result in the use of leave being denied.
The university may require a physician's statement of illness or injury before granting sick leave.
A physician's statement of ability to work may be required before the employee is allowed to resume work.
Abuse of sick leave by an employee may result in the withholding of payment for the sick leave and possible disciplinary action.
Under Tennessee law, a regular full-time employee who has been employed by the university
for at least 12 consecutive months is eligible for up to a maximum of four months leave for pregnancy, childbirth and nursing the infant, and adoption. The leave used may be accrued sick leave (up to a maximum of 30 days), accrued annual leave,
personal leave day, or leave without pay.
If both parents are university employees, the combined use of sick leave is limited to a total of 30 days, unless medical complications arise that fit the standard rules regarding the use of sick leave.
With regard to adoption, the four months period begins at the time the employee receives custody of the child.
During employment, if an absence without pay exceeds any 15-day period, the employee should be placed on leave of absence wtihout pay. Any sick leave earned in the month in which they return to work will be accrued on the first
day of the month they return to an active pay status and prorated according to 1c. If an employee fails to return from a leave of absence with or without pay, any unused sick leave will be held in an inactive status.
Within the IRIS retroactivity period, adjustments can be entered in IRIS. Time evaluation will automatically re-evaluate the time for the prior pay periods.
Adjustments for pay periods older than the retroactivity period are made by a quota correction processed by the campus human resources office. Requests and supporting documentation should be forwarded for these adjustments.
When an employee who has been accumulating annual and sick leave transfers to a position
which does not accrue leave, the unused sick leave will be held in an inactive status. If the employee retires
or later returns to a position with the university or another state agency for which annual and sick leave
accrue, the sick leave balance will be restored to the employee.
If an employee terminates employment with the University of Tennessee without a break in
service to accept employment with another state agency or state Board of Regents institution, all accumulated
sick leave will be transferred to the employing agency.
For Tennessee the Consolidated Retirement System (TCRS), Joint Contributory Retirement System (JCRS), and Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS)
members, all unused sick leave is credited toward retirement. However, unused sick leave is not included as creditable
service for disability retirement. The Federal Employees
Retirement System (FERS) does not allow unused sick leave to be counted as retirement credit. All university retirement plans include unused sick leave in years of service
to determine the state's portion, if any, of retiree insurance premiums.